Saturday, October 18, 2008

Halfway mark

Ok, so it's been a while since I last posted. Really nothing all that remarkable has happened in the last couple of weeks. Little bored actually. I hate to say that because I'm in FRANCE... that's not exactly boring but ya, wee bit bored. Classes are busy that's for sure, though. I had my first presentation in Mme EVIL's class (erg she's not nice at all... pretty much my age-ish but hates teaching and shouldnt BE teaching... great) ... overall the presentation was pretty good (me and another girl presenting together), but we went over the time limit and so the prof razed us pretty bad for it. But whatever. Sher and I have a presentation this coming Wednesday, presenting the question of whether French in Canada is threatened or not. I'm leaning towards no, but I have to admit that it isn't exactly THAT simple either. I'm hoping that Sher isn't too busy today so we can have a little tête-à-tête to come to some sort of a 'conclusion' of sorts to present to the class. I enjoy working on this presentation since I get to learn a lot about Canada, things that I wouldn't normally just look up for kicks lol.
My séjour here in France is pretty much half over now. As much as I enjoy it, I'm happy to think that in not too long I'll be back in Canada. Back to normalness (some of the things here in France are just a bit ridiculous... or moreso just different than the way that we do things in Canada) and back to where I get to see all of you guys that I miss (or at least be in the same country as you lol).
I have to head to the train station soon to buy my ticket to head to Paris on Thursday. Because... my mom, Laura and Joyce are flying into Paris that same day, so I am going to meet them later on in the evening and then we are flying to... Barcelona!! Yeah Spain baby! I'm super excited! It's my 'reading break' (semaine de pause pédagogique) so we're going to spend a week in Spain and then we're coming back to Tours where I will be in plein cours (ie work work work school school school ... fun fun fun??) and I'll get to show les Canadiennes around Tours = play tourist hi hi hi. (Read: hee hee hee... apparently that's how les Français laugh on msn... other than lol which they stole from we anglophones : P )
Oh, Thanksgiving: definitely had to do a bit of explaining to people here who were quite confused that our thanksgiving is in October and NOT November (no I'm NOT American... shudder). Sher and I (who remembered that is was Thanksgiving weekend on ... the Friday of, oops) had a somewhat pathetic and vegan Thanksgiving dinner last Sunday. Not exactly your turkey and pumpkin pie but we did have vegan patties (I couldnt tell you what was in it... brave no?), and lots of veggies. We even skipped the dessert we bought (soja puddings... I tried one a few days later and it was nasty, glad I didnt ruin the dinner with that lol) because we just couldn't be bothered. So it was... interesting. But at least we made an effort to be Canadian on Thanksgiving. I'll make up for it next year ; )

Sunday, October 5, 2008

homesick

So I'm having my first real bout of homesickness. Partly, I'm sure, because I'm overtired... it's late but I can't get to sleep. But I really miss home right now. All day today I've been feeling just generally down. I figured it was nothing a good dose of Francis Cabrel couldn't fix (ahaha yes, don't ask, somehow that always makes me feel better), so... off I trek to FNAC to buy the CD (which I've been wanting to do for a while now but let me tell you... just TRY finding that in BC... uuumm.. "Francis huh?"). So I found an old FNAC receipt to double check that they are actually open on Sundays, and the receipt said 7 jours 8h30-20h. Perfect! Except that when I get there it's closed. Um... so I trek back home again (PS its raining and windy... this really is a good story lol). PS Tyne, if you're reading this: proof that you're right - I am the ditziest person you know - I reread the receipt that OBVIOUSLY lied to me... ya, those are the call centre help hours. DAMMIT!! No store hours even posted on the damn thing!! Note to self: read the whole bloody thing. Ok, rant over. I'm going to FNAC tomorrow...